Connect with us


LG’s Rolling Cricket Trophy finals tomorrow


Directorate of Youth Services and Sports, MA Stadium, Jammu

LG’s Rolling Cricket Trophy finals tomorrow

Ganderbal wins 3rd place; Jammu to face Anantnag in title clash

Director Sports inaugurates match; honours winner
Getting the better of District Doda by a big margin of 64 runs, District Ganderbal clinched the third place in the LG’s Rolling Cricket Trophy at MA Stadium today, while District Jammu will take on District Anantnag in the summit clash at the same venue tomorrow.
Earlier, the (hardliner) match for the third place was inaugurated by the Director of Youth Services and Sports J&K, Subash Chander Chibber with the toss of coin, who later on honoured the man of the match winner with a trophy.

The Director was accompanied by Joint Director Youth Services and Sports (J), Suram Chand Sharma; Joint Director YS&S (K), Bashir Ahmed; Deputy Director Youth Services and Sports (C) Jitender Mishra; Deputy Director YS&S E&S, Ravi Kumar; Accounts Officer Directorate; Sunil Kumar Sharma; District Youth Services and Sports Officer Jammu, Sukhdev Raj Sharma; DYSSO Srinagar, Balbir Singh; DYSSO Anantnag Mushtaq Ahmed; Rajesh Dhar (Match Referee) and the Conveners of various committees.
Earlier, winning the toss and batting first, Ganderbal scored a good total of 154 runs in the stipulated 20 overs, losing 6 wickets in the process. Danish top scored with 82 runs off 64 balls, while Umar contributed 34 runs off 20 balls.

For Doda, Kesar and Rajan took 2 wickets each.
In reply, Doda bundled out for 91 runs in 15 overs, thus lost the match by 64 runs. Nitin top scored with 20 runs off 19 balls.
For Ganderbal, Umar was the wrecker-in-chief, who took 5 wickets by conceding 14 runs in 4 overs, while Aqib and Raja claimed 2 wickets each. For his superb bowling display, Umar was adjudged as the man of the match, who was presented trophy by the Director Youth Services and Sports.

The Teams for the finals:

JAMMU: Shanker Singh, Neeraj Johra, Abhay Sharma, Gourav Mahajan, Ankush Sharma, Abhishek, Rashiv Fotra, Rovin Verma, Tarun Singh, Surinder Kumar, Majid Hussain, Satish Kumar, Sant Baksh, Gagandeep Singh, Amit Singh and Rohit Singh.

ANANTNAG: Umar Farooq Dar, Tabrez Ayoub Mughal, Mohd Abdul Wahid, Owais Mohi Ud Din, Zahid Rashid Bhat, Owais Rashid Makroo, Arif Manzoor Bhat, Shakir Ahmed Wani, Jasif Hassan, Enautllah Malik, Bilal Ahmad Lone, Shahid Hussain Dhobi, Aaqib Mohi ud Din, Zaid Nasir Khan and Basit Reyaz.